The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello; This is my first time here but I'm stumped. Blower motor would work then quit, seemed to have a mind of its own. Then it quit completely. Now I have no power from to the front blower motor switch. The rear is separate and works just fine. I have replaced the switch, resistor, and motor already. I have also checked the fuse in the PDC Block and its fine. I removed the relay and tested it across the battery to make sure it clicks. I know I have power at the fuse and on two terminals of the relay but no power at the switch. ( The resistor I changed is on the firewall behind the right side front strut.) I have also disconnected the main computer for a short time then reconnected it and there was no change. I was trying a system reset hoping it would solve my problem. Help!!

·
5000 Club
5,747 Posts
For troubleshooting just about any accessory system problem the relay is a good place to start because it's easy to get to and it will quickly eliminate large parts of the circuit. You determine if the control side and the output side of the relay are working. A fault anywhere in the system will show up while testing those two functions.

Easiest thing to start with is bypassing the output contacts. Turn the blower switch to high to set the ground to the motor, remove the relay then with the keys in your pocket jumper contacts 30 and 87 on the relay socket. The blower should spin immediately. If it does the output side of the relay is working. You've just eliminated half the system as the culprit. The switch is providing the ground to the motor via the resistor block and the battery bus is supplying power via the fuse in the PDC. If the motor doesn't spin check for a ground at pin 2 (black wire) at the motor connector and power at pin 1. One or the other is missing.