The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 chrysler van i got my front brake pads changed the next day my brake pedal slipped to floor made it home by pumping brakes . had man come back an looked at it claimed a button on the steering column stopped my brakes from working and told me to not start it or anyhing it would blow my van up now im not a mechanic but im not a real dummy either. Now its been 8 days since he put brake shoe on an pedal goes down. Man wont call me even went by his house he woudent come to door any one know what may be the issue

·
3rd gen > all others
2,832 Posts
Something isn't holding hydraulic pressure. Maybe whoever worked on it forgot to tighten a bleeder on a caliper (after compressing the piston to reset the caliper for new pads) or allowed air to get into system and didn't properly bleed it out. Could be improper pad installation too. Maybe a leaking caliper after compressing the piston due to age/corrosion (happens sometimes).

Sounds like the "mechanic man" doesn't know what he did wrong, and is trying to avoid you. I hope you have his information, as you may need to seek legal recourse. You could take the van to a different shop and have them look at/diagnose it, take pictures of what they find before tampering/attempting to repair it, and contact the "mechanic" with what they find wrong, to see if he's willing to repair it at his cost (if it's his mistake). Otherwise, you may have to pay the new shop to fix it, and sue the "mechanic" for the repair bill.

·
Registered
2009 GCV SE
511 Posts