The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all -

Newbie here with a question. We've had our 2007 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.3 for about a year and a half. It's been pretty good so far, but I noticed something odd the other day.

I was unloading the van after a day trip, and was removing a plastic container of snacks that had been sitting in the recessed area on the R side of 3rd row. The container was quite hot, and so was the entire area.

Hood Steering part Motor vehicle Automotive tire Automotive lighting

The next day I removed the plastic panel and found that the heat was coming from the hoses to the rear heater core.

Automotive tail & brake light Car Automotive lighting Hood Vehicle

Gas Automotive tire Vehicle door Wire Automotive exterior

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Hood Vehicle door Automotive exterior

I presume that rear heat/AC is regulated by a blend-air door, and that therefore coolant flows through the heater hoses all the time - in which case it appears this excess heat is to be expected.

Is this normal? I had hoped there was a mechanical valve somewhere to cut off the flow of coolant when the rear heater is not being used, but no such luck. The rear AC works fine, but is largely negated by the heat coming off the heater hoses.

As a temporary solution, I put clamps on the rubber hoses under the van. This has reduced the flow enough that the amount of heat being released into the interior is much less. I plan to remove them c. late October, at which point the excess heat will be appreciated.

However, it's sort of a hokey solution. Is the situation (before my 'fix') normal, or is something wrong with the rear heat?

Thanks in advance!

·
Super Moderator
30,185 Posts
There are no flow control valves, coolant is always flowing. Air flow control doors control heat flow.
Are your overhead controls for rear heat turned off? Front as well.