The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2007 Chrysler Town and country
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My son-in-law drives a 2007 Town & Country that needs a new fuel pump. Both of us are inept at anything mechanical, so we rely on my brother in such cases. He is a self-taught mechanic with 50 years experience, and a Napa parts person with a few years experience.

He wants to make the swap by cutting the floor above the gas tank. He's confident about cutting the floor. After watching several videos, making the swap seems easy to even me. My brother thinks he knows how to patch the hole in the floor. We do not have access to a car lift.

Is this safe? Any advice on cutting the floor? Any ideas on patching the hole in the floor? Thank you in advance for any replies you can make.

·
Registered
2005 Town & Country 251k miles
85 Posts
It is recommended to clean the outside of the tank prior to punching the locking ring loose to prevent dirt from entering the tank. It is also recommended to clean the inside of the tank prior to installing a new pump. Both of these procedures are more difficult or perhaps not possible if the tank is in place. Cutting the floor then patching it sounds sketchy.

·
Drivin' Maniac
2002 Grand Caravan ES 3.8L
2,144 Posts
My understanding is that there is NO NEED to get out the Sawzall... :oops:

Just elevate the rear wheels (ramps or jack stands) and you can drop the tank enough to reach in and replace the pump.

Am I right or wrong?

Reactions: nerddawg

·
Registered
378 Posts
My understanding is that there is NO NEED to get out the Sawzall... :oops:

Just elevate the rear wheels (ramps or jack stands) and you can drop the tank enough to reach in and replace the pump.

Am I right or wrong?
Good luck let us know how it goes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Drivin' Maniac
2002 Grand Caravan ES 3.8L
2,144 Posts
Good luck let us know how it goes