The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is my almost factory looking aftermarket overhead custom video screen install.

DISCLAIMER:
I’m not a pro installer, so anything you see in the pics or text should not be mimicked or used as instructional material in any way. I know there were things like disconnecting the battery, ppe… and such I didn’t do at my own risk… so what, lol.

The parts I used were:
- Pyle PLVWR922 9.2” screen with IR transmitter. ($80 new shipped from Amazon)
- MyGig Lockpick V4 ($190 shipped from Amazon)
- 12’ twisted pair audio and video cable ($16 from Walmart)
- 12’ 18ga auto power and ground wire ($5 from Autozone)
- *Still on order – Boss audio TV Tuner ($90 shipped from Amazon)
- Misc. connectors (maybe $2 from my personal bench-stock)
- Krylon satin pebble and primer- Yes the rattle can. ($6 Wal…)
- Bondo Hair- ($11 from Wal…)
- Total $400. Was it worth it? This stuff is fun for me, so I’d say so.

--Pictures loaded to Photobucket in reverse order – sorry.

http://s1092.photobucket.com/albums/i415/ZCR11/

Ok, in pic 1 you can see I’m using a plastic pry-bar; these can be found at most wheel/tire shops and are used for removing center caps from alloy wheels. They are great for removing plastic interior panels with tight gaps.

Pic 2- The Lockpic. Very nice unit; no need to cut and splice any factory wiring. It has an ACC power out put wire rated at 1.5 amps, ground and a constant Batt 12 v source. Connecting is very straight forward with great instructions and color pictures. (The screen only pulls 0.9 amps)

Pic 3- I like to use a roll of household ground wire for almost anything; from tying up Christmas lights to fishing wire through tight spaces. I used a length of it to find a path over the headliner to the A-pillar then taped the AV and pwr/gnd wires to it and pulled it through.