The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've replaced my EGR valve 2 or 3 times on my 2008 Chrysler Town and Country. All about a month or two apart. They came with a lifetime warranty, and the store doesn't have any issue with replacing it multiple times...but with so many failures, I wonder if the EGR valve was good, and its some other problem. Is there a way to test the EGR valve, or the electrical connections? So far I have been ignoring it for a couple years now, but the remote start won't work if the check engine light is on. Also I am not alerted to other issues if the check engine light is always on.

·
Registered
2013 Dodge Grand Caravan
4,531 Posts
What codes are you getting?

·
Registered
2013 Dodge Grand Caravan
4,531 Posts
That's a circuit code, so it could be wiring. Could also be a defective or dirty EGR. Which engine do you have? I can get the wiring diagram for you to check it.

Reactions: beretta96

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
2008 Chrysler Town and Country
Touring Edition
3.8 L V6

Yes a wiring diagram would be helpful because don't have a full, service manual yet. I doubt it's the EGR valve itself as it's unlikely that 3 valves in a row would fail.

·
Registered
2013 Dodge Grand Caravan
4,531 Posts
Here's the code troubleshooting guide with diagram. Yeah, after 3 with the same result it'd be really concerning if it were dud parts. Hopefully it's just a snagged wire somewhere.

Attachments

Reactions: Mtfix20

·
Registered
799 Posts