The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Vehicle: 2000 Chrysler Town and Country minivan Lxi 3.8 Liter engine
There has been some sort of drain on my car's battery. My neighbor, who has worked on his own cars for about 50 or 60 years, tried to help me narrow down why it is my car's battery will completely drain if I leave it hooked up for more than 30 hours.
He gave up after lots of attempts to figure it out. I have to unhook the negative cable of the battery every evening. And, now, I am thinking, that may not be often enough.

Note: I am new to working on cars, so if you can teach me the correct terminology for the parts I don’t have the correct name for I’ll be glad for the help.

One day I turned the key and it hesitated to crank. By the next week all I got was a "click" under the car.

I took off the starter and rebuilt it. It is a NipponDenso starter, and this is at least the 3rd time the starter’s been rebuilt before I purchased the vehicle in July 2019.

Upon opening the solenoid I see the contacts, specifically the more curved contact, are burnt, and the more curved contact was worn, whereas the more square contact was only slightly worn, See photos.

I replaced the contacts and the plunger, so all were in pristine condition. I took it to the auto parts store for them to bench test the rebuilt starter before I put it back on the minivan. It tested good.

Notes on the testing: on the first test there was arcing from the ignition trigger wire, as the employee who put it in the container where they bench test them had bent the black holder where the ignition trigger wire is. Before the 2nd test I asked him to adjust the starter and not keep that part bent. The starter tested good.

I took the starter home and opened up the solenoid and discovered the new copper disc on the plunger where it comes in contact with the contacts was now pitted in 3 or 4 spots.