The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, newbie here, and I am completely stumped.
The facts: 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.8L, ABS, Front & Rear Disc.

The problem. Last summer I installed new autozone mid grade pads and rotors on the front. about 2 months later I noticed tremendous brake dust on the passenger front side. then I heard the metal wear indicator. at that point I changed the pads again (autozone ceramic this time), pulled the slide pins, cleaned and greased everything with high temp brake grease. Problem solved, right? Wrong!!. This past January, there was the dust and the wear indicator again. so new pads (autozone ceramic),, and this time, I replaced the passenger side caliper, and guide pins, greased all pins again, as well as the flex lines (both driver and passenger) (thinking one may be partially collapsed.) as well as flushed the old brake fluid. everything moves freely. However, I have been watching the wear closely over the past few months, and the pads on the passenger side front are still wearing out about twice as fast as the drivers side. I am truly stumped, and the mechanic I asked, as well as my dad, can't come up with anything, I haven't already done.

My idea now is: could the passenger side be doing all of the braking for the car, and the drivers side caliper be weak? there is break dust on the drivers side, but at this point I just don't know.

So any advise or large hammers ya'll could provide, that I could throw at it would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry I was long winded, just hope I didn't leave anything out.

·
Premium Member
10,109 Posts
How does the van stop? If it stops straight and with no problems (like easy brake fade or not enough braking power) I would suspect an ABS problem. If it pulls or something, I would suspect that the master cylinder is weak. The drivers caliper is fine as long as it is clean and lubed properly and not leaking.

·
Registered