The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
862 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
06 grand caravan---sxt---124,000 miles, live in south florida..i am just a novice and have worked on my van doing things
I don't sense that i know alot about electrical...just seen things on you tube. don't see fuel pump wiring in haynes book
van cranks doesn't run at all, never had issues before
van has no codes
don't hear the hum from fuel pump when turn key on inside van or at where or gas inlet
i checked for spark between one of the coil connectors and plug wire,,saw spark jump
fuse fuel pump good
fuel pump relay swapped with a good one
85 and 87 on relay,,lights up with test light
86 on relay,,believe is ground,,,test light turns on
30 and 87 jumped with wire to initiated pump...but still not activated.
30/ground meter used for resistance got less then 5 ohms
ASD relay tested with meter the 2 pins on left, one at top one at bottom---they both showed 12v

Back probed (which i didn't even know the word prior to this issue) the harness on top gas tank. utube guy said tap back probe into blue and orange wire (he said its the 12v supply wire). So i stuck a safety pin as close as possible next to that
wire into the slot after pushing forward.
Held red connector from meter to needle and touched black lead to chassie of the van (hope that was a good ground and good red lead.
Wife turn key to "on" position. results about 2 volts
Question: What am i doing wrong?
Question: after 3 seconds with key to the on position will the Volts going to harness terminate for testing unless the car stays running (which it cannot).
Question: should i remove battery from van and take it back to rear of van after disconnecting the female part of the harness to the male and have a wire go from the positive pole of battery to the supply wire to see if it runs the pump, heck i don't even know if that is a method to test by.

·
3rd gen > all others
4,580 Posts