The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Newbie here. I have an '09 T&C limited that has been burning through brake pads & rotors every 20-25k miles - with a lot of vibration in between. I saw BenS's thread on doing the upgrade to the 2013 HD double piston calipers and larger rotors and want to go that route. My van has the 17" wheels.
I've done a few brake jobs in my time but haven't had to bleed the brakes since my '78 Cutlass! lol. My main question is do I need to bleed all four wheels even if I'm just changing the front calipers? Forgive me if this is stupid question. I just don't want to do more work than I need to here. :)
Also, any recommendations on a good set of pads to put on? I don't care about the brake dust. More concerned about stopping at a "normal" distance.

·
Registered
823 Posts
Welcome to the forum! The brakes are known to be undersized for the weight of the van.

One highly possible reason you're burning through brakes so fast is because the calipers aren't releasing your pads completely causing them to drag a little but not enough to feel anything when driving. I would relube the slide pins and contact points annually, there are a number of threads here on it.

If you do decide to go with the upgrade, this forum is very helpful. Seeing that your van is 7+years old with what I assume is original brake fluid, I would get fresh fluid to get fresh fluid so I know I don't have to do it again for many years to come. Some members here don't think there's any need to completely replace your old fluid (as in they never changed fluid for the life of their vehicles), which I respect, but my opinion is that since I have it apart, I might as well spend a little extra effort now and know there's nothing I didn't do.

My biggest concern is overheating the fluid with the tiny brake setup and compromising the fluid's integrity. Again, my opinion only.

·
Registered
9 Posts