The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, admittedly I might be in over my head on this one, but I’m stubborn and refuse to believe I can’t learn how to do something given time and some guidance(the latter of which brought me here) My 2000 TaC 3.3L V6 had coolant and oil mixed in both the oil pan and the radiator, which lead me to believe I needed to replace my head gasket. Im fairly knowledgeable with cars and mechanics, but this is my first time tackling anything this big and im not sure where to start. So im basically asking a few questions
1) What other things should I check before going for the head gasket
2) Step-by-Step guide To doing the job(I have a pretty good idea, but some reassurance in the order if
3)Assuming I make it down to replace the head gasket how do I know for sure it is the head gasket that failed in the first place
4)When doing this job, what all should I be looking for as I replace all the gaskets and whatnot

whatever help/answers/advice is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance

·
Registered
2007 T&C Touring 230k mi
164 Posts
2) While I cannot answer numbers 1 and 3, I've found this video to be very informative for tackling the job:
The video is on a 2008 3.3L, which is set up exactly the same as the 4th gen models ('01-'07), but I can't personally attest to how similar it is to 3rd gen (your 2000). I would presume it's nearly the same aside from cosmetics such as the intake manifold but I'm sure other members here can pitch in.