The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hope everybody had a great Thanksgiving. I live in Texas and will be driving the interstates in January to Long Island and then spending 6 weeks there this winter.

My tires are in pretty good shape - 6/32" rear and 5/32" front. They were on my van when I bought it. Mileage is 53,000

Do I need to buy and install snow tires and then pack them away in my Texas garage this spring, probably never to use again?

Or are chains the way to go? Just put them on when the need arises?

I have very little experience driving in snow (none in this minivan) and am looking for some guidance. Thanks.

·
Registered
361 Posts
I'm about 30 miles SE of Detroit.
I've lived here all my life (75 yrs) and never owned snow tires.
Commuted from here to Windsor daily in my working career.
Are snow tires a big asset in the North East - YES. Absolutely necessary - NO

You could buy a set of winter tires/rims and sell them to the locals when you leave NY

I'm one granddaughter behind you.:)

·
Super Moderator
22,235 Posts
Two Grandsons here. :)

Winter traction is somewhat about tread depth, less than 4/32" is concerning, but more about tread pattern. The 225/65R17 OE Michelin Energy tires on my 2016 are a great tire three seasons of the year. They wear well and evenly across. For winter use they are next to useless. The spaces between the tread blocks are too tight and fill up rather than bite.

You have many choices but chains isn't one of them, unless you will be trekking through deep snow.

Some new AS tires make half descent winter tires if the tread blocks are open enough to bite the snowy /wet/icy road surface.

All Season: General Altimax RT43 looks good, especially when new: https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=General&tireModel=AltiMAX+RT43+(H-+or+V-Speed+Rated)