The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be picking up my 2012 Chrysler Town and Country Touring -L with 127000 kilometres (79,000 miles) on Saturday and at that time I have to decide if I want to add a Lubrico warranty to the vehicle. The Best Value according to Lubrico is the 24 month/40000 KM at $1,359. or 36 months/60,000 KM for $1,699. I imagine both are taxable at 13%. If you don't use the warranty over that period for $149.00 they will extend it for another equal term.

Are these warranties worth purchasing? The vehicle I am purchasing does appear to have been very well cared for but I'm just a lady trying to buy a vehicle, definitely I have no mechanical knowledge.

I have never purchased a warranty on a used vehicle in the past, but I haven't purchased a used car since around 2004. I bought my current vehicle new in 2013 with a 5 year/100,000 KM warranty.

Would appreciate hearing your thoughts on these warranties offered for used cars.

·
Registered
475 Posts
Carefully read what it covers and what it doesn't cover, and especially the fine print. Don't just believe whatever the dealer says. Keep in mind the sales commission on those warranties is 50% (my wife worked at a dealer).

·
Registered
2013 Dodge Grand Caravan
3,131 Posts
They can be worth it, but more often than not they are scams with so many loopholes for the company to back out of paying that it renders it basically useless. Once had to fight a warranty company at my shop to pay for a covered engine replacement. Had to get the dealer to threaten to break ties with the company if they didn't honor it.

·
Super Moderator
27,919 Posts
Those plans are an attractive upselling initiative for the Dealership. They will make them sound great for sure and likely a bit pushy.

Here's one that's a little different:
Ensurall: https://ensurall.ca/?gclid=CjwKCAjw...WakfmUhxUP91rKh6Kv8SGd2GKznesPMBoCX5kQAvD_BwE

Buy Direct & Save