The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a scanner so I know the code is related to coolant temp and usually points to a Thermostat... but I'm new to Chrysler vehicles (other than a 2000 XJ Cherokee, I've owned nothing but GM) and just wanted to get some feedback before I guess.

Bought the van last Saturday. It was 70 degrees outside. It's been over 50 until today, when it dropped to 30's (thanks, Michigan). Back and forth to work today, no problems. Drove about 20 minutes round trip to take son to babysitter, no issue. Left the house this evening and about 5 minutes down the road, the P0128 popped.

I did feel like maybe it wasn't heating up quite fast enough on the way to work this morning, so I'm feeling pretty good about my T-stat prognosis, but I wanted to check with you all as to the commonality of thermostat problems with the 3.6 engine. I haven't had a thermostat fail on any modern vehicle I've owned so I'm just wondering, is it likely that the thermostat is bad or do I need up increase my concern level?

Also, are aftermarket t-stat housings OK or do I need to go genuine MOPAR?

Thanks all! I'll be here quite a bit, I'm sure.

·
--UNKNOWN MEMBER--
11,948 Posts

First, remove the radiator cap and make sure you have the right amount of coolant (check radiator itself, not the recovery bottle).

Thermostat failure is not something that occurs very often.

Your vehicle may not even have a thermostat. If coolant level is ok, then proceed to replace/install a new thermostat.

·
Super Moderator
24,194 Posts
1. Welcome to the Forum.

2. Listen to LEVY (most times) :)

Low coolant level in radiator (below the level of the heater pipes at the firewall) = low/no heat. Driving up hill may bring heat back for a bit. Top up radiator and check for leak.

If no topping up required, check to see if fans are on all the time and/or if top hose is not hot. What is your temperature gauge showing?