The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Quick intro -- I owned a '99 Windstar and currently have an '01 Windstar, so I've been driving Fords for the last eight years or so.

Last week, I bought a 2001 Town and Country Limited. 120K miles, excellent physical condition. However, my love affair was short lived.

I bought it knowing that the back hatch didn't work; that was OK, compared to everything else. However, I didn't realize that the only way to open the latch is to turn the key at the same time as lifting the gate. There is no handle like on my Ford, and I never thought of checking that. I had the van checked by the local dealer and was told that I need a new latch and was quoted $500 to fix.

Then, the two times that I tested the doors at the dealer (during the test drive and when I went to pick up the vehicle), both doors operated fine. Both times, though, the van was thoroughly warmed up (it's winter where I live, the test drive was during near-blizzard conditions). When I tried to operate the drivers' side door the next morning (cold, stored in a garage), the drivers' door would engage, open 1-2 inches, and quit. The passenger door is fine. I bought it "as-is" so I know I have no recourse, but I'm really disappointed.

The van is beautiful, though, and is fun to drive (when the roads are clear). I made the switch because I was nervous to buy another Ford, even though I really liked driving them (the '99 blew one transmission and then the 2nd one started to leak after only 3-4 years when I decided to get rid of it).

Anyway, I joined the forum to get some feedback and assistance. I've been trying to look for solutions to my issues, plus any other helpful advice about my "new" van.

Thanks.

·
5000 Club
5,750 Posts