The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have a weird problem... I have a 2002 T&C LXI AWD 3.8L with NO EGR VALVE installed in it... is it even possible? I had a P0172 code that went away after a couple of days, but I still decided to go check the a few things under the hood just to be safe, and to my surprise, there was not EGR valve neither the tube that was supposed to go out of the engine to the valve... there some sort of "block off" plate closing the hole...

So, is this normal on these engines/models? I'm new to the whole minivan deal... just got this one less than 6 months ago after we had twins...(boy, these things are a life saber and fun to drive on the snow!!! :)

Any info is greatly appreciated :) Thanks in advance!!! :thumb:

·
Man. Mopar. Minivan.
3,895 Posts
How does the van run? I could be wrong, but I would think that if the EGR was flat out *gone*, the engine would definitely not be running right with indications other than a simple check engine light.

·
Premium Member
10,109 Posts
Depending on where the van was destined for original delivery, it could have no EGR if that states emissions regulations were lower than places like Illinois or California.

Your P code is for the system running too rich. This could be caused by a sensor malfunction or physical problem such as a vacuum leak. Was teh van having any driveability problems?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, the van is driving like a charm.. the light went away after a good 65mph 30min. drive on the freeway... I'm not the first owner so I'm not sure where it was first purchased... I'll check for vacuum leaks and such.. thanks folks!!!

·
MOPAR Parts & Service Pro
3,052 Posts
Some have EGR and some do not. Original destination, as Andy said, is the key. My 03 has no EGR and I am so glad. I dislike the whole EGR thing in general.