The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2005 Chrysler town and country van. Never had a problem with anything under hood. Last weekend my husband was going up a hill that was a little muddy and go it stuck. After getting it unstuck the reverse wouldn't work. It goes in drive and will drive forward without hesitation. When shifted into reverse it acts like it is in neutral and revs the engine but doesn't move at all. I want to change the transmission filter and replace oil. I don't think it's the transmission its self but I'm not a mechanic so I don't know, but I'm willing to try anything before replacing a transmission. Any suggestions?

·
--UNKNOWN MEMBER--
12,078 Posts

Replacing filter and fluids after the fact usually doesn't help, especially if it is working fine otherwise.

Good luck.

·
Registered
663 Posts
I have a 2005 Chrysler town and country van. Never had a problem with anything under hood. Last weekend my husband was going up a hill that was a little muddy and go it stuck. After getting it unstuck the reverse wouldn't work. It goes in drive and will drive forward without hesitation. When shifted into reverse it acts like it is in neutral and revs the engine but doesn't move at all. I want to change the transmission filter and replace oil. I don't think it's the transmission its self but I'm not a mechanic so I don't know, but I'm willing to try anything before replacing a transmission. Any suggestions?
Check the wire-harness connectors to the transmission. Getting stuck could have jarred the connector. That's the first and easy thing that is free to do.