The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never done my own brakes before, but my son did his and he was pleased with how easy it was. Everything I have read indicates that it's not difficult. I've read instructions online--both general instructions and model-specific instructions (here and elsewhere)--and I am 90% confident I can do it.

The rotors are clean and not scored, and were replaced the last time I had my brakes done. The main reasons I'm doing it myself this time around, are that just about every garage insists on changing out the rotors every time they replace pads, which I find unnecessary, and even if they didn't, they charge way too much and I want to make sure it's done right (same reason I change my own oil).

I have cleaned out my turkey baster, and it will have been sitting in my garage, disassembled, for four days, so it will be completely dry (don't want any moisture infecting the brake fluid). I have jack stands. The Akebono ceramic pads I purchased came with lubricant for the sliders. I have picked up some CRC brake quiet, a can of of DOT3 Brake fluid, and brake parts cleaner.

I would welcome the advice of the more experienced DIY Brake job veterans. A few questions:

(1) How to use the brake quiet. Should I spray it on the back of the pads a day ahead of time, so it can dry out before I perform the job, or do I spray it on just before installation?
(2) Are there any critical areas to focus on with brake parts cleaner? None of the instructions I have read even refer to use of brake parts cleaner, but I can only assume that there will be brake pad residue in there and I will want to blast out any dirt while I have things apart, for my peace of mind.
(3) Are there any critical areas to avoid with the brake parts cleaner? I don't want to mess anything up.