The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie Dodge caravan owner in that I purchased the van last weekend because the price was right and I really liked the layout and the way it drove.

My short wheelbase 2002 Caravan SE has 142k miles on it and the last owner didn't know anything about the transmission history. I want to pull the pan off this weekend and replace the filter and trans fluid. While I definitely will use ATF+4, should I go with Mopar ($9/quart from the local dealer), Valvoline ($5.50 from parts store), or the blue bottle from WalMart ($3.77/quart). Are Fram trans filters any good or do I need the Mopar one? I just bought a Mopar engine oil filter from my local Walmart before reading this forum to find out that they too are made by FRAM and may be suspect in their quality. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks.

·
Vendor
1,105 Posts
The Wal Mart Brand stuff is fine.

Where did you read the Mopar Filters were Fram? Last ones I opened were Purolator made.

I have heard some say the cheap tranny filters are just that, cheap junk that can degrade quickly. I have not changed mine yet (but will be in the next few months) and will probably get a Wix.

Oh, and Welcome to the forum! :hi2:

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Blupupher,

Thanks for the advice!

I read that the oil filters were made by Fram (I believe) on the oil filter sticky post at the top of this forum--maybe at the time of the posting that was the general consensus or maybe I just misunderstood the post.......

At my local auto parts store, they seem to only sell Fram trans filters and gaskets and so that's why I was leaning towards getting it there. I will see if any WIX trans filters are available close-by.

Again, thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
163 Posts