The Chrysler Minivan Fan Club Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2008 DGC 3.8L. I discovered i had a failing water pump bearing after replacing the serpentine belt and tensioner in early spring. The belt chirping and squeaking continued like nothing had changed. I narrowed the issue down to the water pump bearing and ordered a replacement.
During replacement, i completely snapped off a bolt on the water pump trying to break it loose. After many hours of trying to find a solution to remove the bolt(im not looking for tips, im a professional millwright and machinist) it appeared my only solution to remove the broken bolt was to lower the engine somehow so I could properly drill it out.
Due to time constraints and the fact this is an old van... I wanted something quick and dirty... Some google searching led me to a few posts in other forums about this. Just mount the new pump with 4/5 bolts.... I also used some RTV silicone lightly on the gasket and let it sit for 24 hrs before i added coolant to the engine. After refilling coolant i took it for a test drive... 150 km later i could see a droplet of coolant forming around the water pump where the missing/broken bolt, only while tye engine was hot and running, a new drop would form every 2-3 min and would evaporate and no leaking while engine off.
A retired mechanic friend of mine swears by bars leaks so I added a bottle. Several months later and an oil change interval and no leaks running great. I wanted to post this in case someone else came across the same problem and wanted some confidence to try the quick and dirty repair. My only concern moving forward will be how it holds up during the winter. I will update then

· Registered
538 RWHP, LS motor, RX7 body
586 Posts
A temporary and risky fix.